+1 (212) 233-7776

About Us


The objectives of the Ecuadorean American Association are:

  • To promote greater knowledge and understanding of the economic, financial and political climate of today’s Ecuador.
  • To foster commerce, investment, cultural relations and goodwill between the people of the two nations.

The Association accomplishes these objectives by bringing together Ecuadorean, U.S., and International business people, government officials, and individuals at a variety of programs, and by posting news and other items on its Facebook and Twitter pages.

Join Our Mailing List

Historical Notes

The Ecuadorean American Association was founded in 1932 by a group of prominent U.S. and Ecuadorean businessmen and professionals residing in New York. John L. Merrill, then President of All American Cables, and Dr. Carlos Bermeo, an Ecuadorean national, organized the first meeting, which was held in the Board Room of All America Cables on November 21st of that year.

Dr. Eduardo Jaramillo, a prominent Ecuadorean citizen, acted as chairman. John J. Clisham, later Executive Secretary of the Pan American Society, served as secretary of the meeting, and Mr. Merrill was elected President of the Association. Other members of the first Board of Directors were Adriano Cobo, Valerian E. Greaves, Thomas J. MacDonald, Robert H. Patchin, and Fred J. Rankin.


On the occasion of the 50th Anniversary of the Ecuadorean American Association, Oswaldo Hurtado Larrea, President of the Republic of Ecuador, awarded the Association a National Order of Merit Knighthood (right) on November 8, 1982.



Juana Caicedo-Selinger
President, EAA, Senior Vice President, UBS Wealth Management

Maria Rosa Baquerizo
Senior Advisor

Jacques Kohn
Vice President, EAA, Former President, Baltek Corporation

Evan Acosta
Vice President & General Manager, Banco del Pichincha

Amb. Paul C. Lambert
Partner, McLaughlin & Stern

Arthur E. Byrnes
Senior Managing Director, Deltec Asset Management

Kelly Librera
Partner, Winston & Strawn LLP

Milton Schwartz
Senior Partner, Grant, Herrmann, Schwartz & Klinger

Honorary Directors:

H.E. Nathalie Cely
Ambassador of Ecuador to the United States

Hon. Adam Namm
United States Ambassador to Ecuador

Former Presidents of the Association

John J. Merrill 1932-1946
Arthur S. Kleeman 1946-1952
Robert D. Merrill 1952-1954
James S. Carson 1954-1955
Henry W. Balgooyen 1955-1958
Paul E. Calvet 1958-1963
Henry W. Balgooyen 1963-1965
Albert B. Wenzell 1965-1967
James A. Hoyt 1967-1968
Henry A. Geyelin 1968-1970
Norton Stevens 1970-1972
Joseph W. Welsh 1972-1976
Hans W. Trinler 1976-1977
Jason Gould 1977-1979
Rene M. Valverde 1979-1983
Milton Schwartz 1983-1985
David B. Driscoll 1985-1988
Andrew M. Klinger 1988-1994
Gordon Haw 1994-1996